Clearing Router Configuration Log Out | Topics | Search
Moderators | Edit Profile

CN Discussion » Technical Guides and Frequently Asked Questions » Clearing Router Configuration « Previous Next »

Author Message
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Arseny Taranenko
Username: Admin

Registered: 12-2003
Posted on Tuesday, September 11, 2007 - 01:36 pm:   

There are two ways of getting rid of a user configuration; which way is preferred depends on the length and the complexity of the configuration you want to erase. You can simply negate every configuration commands with a “no” statement, for example “no ip address”. This however requires reading the running-config and deleting the commands one by one.

The second method is to reboot the device with the “reload” command. Provided the configuration register hasn’t been tampered with, when a router reboots it will ignore any previously saved configurations and start with a default “clean” config. The reboot process usually takes 3-5 minutes, so if you are trying to erase just a few commands, you are better off using the first method.

Note, that when a router boots up ignoring any previously saved configuration, it will start with a configuration dialog. You need to terminate the dialog either by answering “no” to the first question or by pressing “Ctrl-C” keys.

Add Your Message Here
Post:
Username: Posting Information:
This is a private posting area. Only registered users and moderators may post messages here.
Password:
Options: Enable HTML code in message
Automatically activate URLs in message
Action:

Topics | Last Day | Last Week | Tree View | Search | Help/Instructions | Program Credits Administration